CBA chairman steps down

The CBA has announced that Stuart Mason Elliott will be standing down as Chairman of the group.
The statement follows the decision by several members to move away from CBA to form a new buying group, Fortis, with Cemco members.

The group explained its position in a statement yesterday: “His position within the existing group has become untenable. Commodity group chairmen; Kevin Fenlon, Graham Skillen and Tony Adams will also stand down with immediate effect along with all other persons who hold positions of responsibility within the CBA but do not belong to one of the six on-going member companies.”

All members of CBA, including the departing members, have committed to supporting 2013 agreements for the remainder for the year.

“CBA are happy and committed to be working with the departing members to honour the agreements. CBA will be a more nimble organisation moving forwards. Principals of all member businesses play an active role in both the running of their own businesses and the group and therefore the ratio of decision makers to turnover is unique amongst buying groups.”

CBA is focusing on “the traditional values of merchant buying” going forward. These include buying in bulk to gain efficiency in the supply chain, building strong relationships between the members and suppliers at all levels and being decisive and effecting change quickly as market conditions shift.

“We look forward to working with suppliers who share these core values of Merchanting and who wish to build a trading partnership with a very focussed group of companies.

“The remaining CBA members; AW Lumb, Beesley and Fildes, James Burrell, John A Stephens, Robert Price, and Tippers, differentiate themselves in their market place as professional businesses built on local expertise and market knowledge. They are all key regional merchants with turnover in excess of £20m. Members are all financially sound, ethical and trustworthy companies who trade responsibly and with integrity.

“All members believe in committing together with suppliers to offer a differentiated route to market for their products. This includes proactively promoting their product as well as being a key partner in their distribution channel by leveraging our infrastructure to deliver a more cost effective solution to the supplier.

“CBA looks forward to welcoming new likeminded members to the group.”

The new officials of CBA are;

Chairman: Steve Richardson, James Burrell

Building committee chairman: John Beesley, Beesley and Fildes

Timber committee chairman: Peter Sampson, Tippers

Lightside committee Chairman Chris Coggins, Robert Price

About Fiona Russell-Horne

Group Managing Editor across the BMJ portfolio.

Check Also

L R Rob Richardson Ben Houchen Mark Richardson Nick Richardson

James Burrell opening gives Filstorage its biggest contract

Independent builders merchant James Burrell opened its biggest depot with the help of design and …